More endeavors to pursue

The spring air is calling my name!  

The other day, I had a lightbulb moment: I could just add a rack to my road bike and commute on that!  There’s a bike rack at work, and I think it’s pretty safe, and I can even use multiple locks if I want.  I’ve got a couple of bags with panniers that should work.  I’ll pick up some cleat covers today, too.

I also want to swim again.  Yesterday I bought a bargain Speedo suit at Ross for $17.  I still have my goggles and a new swim cap, which I bought at the end of last summer.  With my Y card in hand, I should be ready to go!

Of course, this doesn’t mean I’ll give up boxing.  It just means I’m looking for more ways to be active outdoors, enjoying the Florida sunshine before it gets too intense.

I’m not going to be perfect.  That’s for sure.  There are going to be weeks (yes, weeks) every once in a while that I miss boxing.  I’m not going to ride everyday, probably.  I’ll aim for it, but heat, rain, and exhaustion might just get in my way.  Swimming and commuting provide the biggest hurtles because they’re new to me this year (though I’ve done both before, so I know what to expect), and they both involve a lot of preparation.  Plus, swimming involves near-nudity, so there’s that.

I’ve also been knitting a lot, and I know that’s not really athletic-themed, but it’s taking up a lot of my free time (in a good way).  I’m looking for more balance, though.  That’s all.

Leave a Reply

