Jumpsquat Girl is back!

It’s been a while, folks. It’s been a long, long while. Injury and apathy have kept me from exercise, honestly. Why not be honest, right?

I had back issues about a year and a half ago that really set me back, leading to three MRIs that showed three slipped disks. I went to rehab for it for a month or so, and then I started working out again, slowly, one machine at a time. I hired a personal trainer so that I could build strength in a safe way.

At the same time, though, I felt rough. I’d gained weight due to lack of exercise and the side-effects of medication. Until very recently, when my doctor said it would be possible to lose weight while on the meds, I was apathetic. If exercise wasn’t going to help, why do it? I got sad because I had enjoyed training for triathlons and taking boxing classes so much. I missed my athletic friends with whom I’d enjoyed biking early in the morning on paths that cut through woods, just this side of a highway.

In the time since my last post, I have developed tremors. I am figuring out what to do about that, medically. Meanwhile, I’m self-conscious of running, walking, and even standing.

My new trainer (the other one changed jobs), a sprightly young woman, really is empowering. She didn’t second-guess my goal of finishing a sprint tri by October at all. In fact, she said, “Let’s get outside,” and she had me running in bursts. I hadn’t run in about two years.

Afterward, my knees were incredibly sore. However, some ibuprofen and ice cured that. Endorphins raced through my brain. Synapses fired. Though I felt a bit defeated by my own mind and body, thinking, “This is embarrassing–I used to do so much better!”

However, that kind of thinking kept me away from the gym. I want to be in the gym again. I want to have goals, and I need the social aspect that I miss so much.

Now, I’ll write again. I’ll tell you about my journey as I deal with my disorder while working toward the triathlon goal. I will have to listen to my trainer and my body so that I don’t get hurt again.

It’s totally cliche, but the right attitude can make a big difference in quality of life. Sometimes it’s really hard when my hands and legs are shaking. It’s hard when kids ask what’s wrong with me.

This isn’t a pity party. That’s not what this blog’s about. My goal is to archive my journey and maybe provoke some smiles.

See you next time!

One thought on “Jumpsquat Girl is back!

  1. Yay! Good for you, I’m very proud you’re starting up again. Take it easy, and don’t push too hard too soon, and you’ll do fantastic! I miss seeing your smiling face, maybe we’ll run into each other on the trails!

Leave a Reply

